Factions EP [Solid Orange Vinyl]

Jeff Derringer

Record label
Oktave Records
Catalog Number
Release Date
June 15th 2018


B1Penalty Phase6:46
B2The Second Plane6:05

Oktave Records returns for the third installment from the label, once again featuring owner and proprietor Jeff Derringer at the helm. The 'Factions' EP shows Jeff at his most direct and robust, with three tracks of meticulously constructed techno. 'Factions' starts the EP and goes straight for the heart of the dance floor, with a tunneling groove that lures the listener into hypnosis before a devastating break takes the track to a whole new level of intensity. This one is for the ravers, no doubt. The flip side starts with 'Penalty Phase', another floor-focused stunner that features Jeff's signature kick drum and drive, coupled with evolving synth arpeggios and melancholy vibes for those early club mornings as the sun comes up. Finally, 'The Second Plane' slows the tempo down a bit and ends the record with a thoughtful broken beat arrangement reminiscent of early Warp. 'Factions' was written during the winter of 2018 and mastered by Tim Xavier at Manmade Mastering. Pressed on solid orange vinyl.